Wednesday, September 9, 2009

Baltimore County Council Approves Speed Cameras

On Sept 8, 2009 the Baltimore County Council approved bill 62-09, authorizing the use of speed cameras in the county, by a 6-1 vote. The county could begin installing cameras as early as October 1 and most likely by the end of 2009. An initial deployment of 6-12 cameras is planned. This is similar to the number in the first year of Montgomery County's program, which now has over 60 of the cameras.

A group of protesters led by member of Americans for Prosperity organized outside the council building as the vote was taking place.

The text of the bill states that it was submitted by request of the County Executive (James Smith). Councilman Bryan McIntire voted against the bill, who was quoted saying simply "I think it's more effective to have police on duty." The following council members voted in favor of the bill:
Councilman S.G. Samuel Moxley
Councilman Kevin Kamenetz
Councilman Kenneth N. Oliver
Councilman Vincent J. Gardina
Councilman Joseph Bartenfelder
Councilman John Olszewski

The County Executive and all council members are up for re-election in November 2010.