Thursday, April 18, 2013

Repeal Amendment Blocked in House

As Maryland State lawmakers were busy de-clawing proposed speed camera reform legislation, bills which would have repealed Maryland's speed camera law had been submitted to both the House and Senate were blocked by the Judicial Proceedings and Environmental Matters committees and were not permitted to come to a vote on the floor.  Not to be deterred so easily, Delegate Michael Smigiel ((R, Kent, Queen Anne's, Cecil, and Caroline Counties) brought the issue to a vote in the House by proposing an amendment to the house version of a "speed camera reform bill".  Delegate Smigiel's amendment would have changed the bill to repeal the state law which authorizes speed cameras.

Of course, the House voted the amendment down.   

The House reform bill replaced another reform bill which had passed the Senate with only a few days left in the annual session and added provisions which would have "grandfathered in" existing bounty system contracts.  Despite much bluster brought about by discoveries of extensive problems in the speed camera programs of Baltimore City and the SHA, the legislature ended without passing any legislation pertaining to speed cameras whatsoever.

House Delegates Voting AGAINST Speed Camera Repeal Amendment
Speaker Busch DeBoy Holmes Miller, A. Stein
Anderson Dumais Howard Mitchell Stukes
Arora Feldman Hubbard Mizeur Summers
Barkley Frick Hucker Morhaim Swain
Barnes Frush Ivey Murphy Tarrant
Barve Gaines Jameson Nathan-Pulliam Turner, F.
Beidle Gilchrist Kaiser Niemann Turner, V.
Bobo Glenn Kelly, A. Pena-Melnyk Valderrama
Branch Griffith Kramer Pendergrass Valentino-Smith
Braveboy Gutierrez Lafferty Proctor Vallario
Cane Guzzone Lee Reznik Vaughn
Carr Hammen Love Robinson, B. Waldstreicher
Clippinger Harper Luedtke Robinson, S. Washington, A.
Conaway Haynes Malone Rosenberg Washington, M.
Conway Healey McHale Rudolph Wilson
Cullison Hixson McIntosh Simmons Zucker

House Delegates Voting FOR Speed Camera Repeal Amendment
Afzali Fisher James Miller, W. Schuh
Aumann Frank Kach Minnick Schulz
Bates George Kelly, K. Myers Smigiel
Beitzel Glass Kipke Norman Sophocleus
Boteler Haddaway-Riccio Krebs O'Donnell Stifler
Cluster Hershey McComas Oaks Stocksdale
Costa Hogan McConkey Olszewski Szeliga
Dwyer Hough McDermott Otto Vitale
Eckardt Impallaria McDonough Parrott Walker
Elliott Jacobs McMillan Ready Wood

Not Voting/Absent:
Bohanan Cardin Jones Serafini Weir
Burns Carter
Bromwell Clagett Donoghue